Club News‎ > ‎

News Update 5/1/14

posted 15 Feb 2014, 13:58 by Moneygall GAA
Senior Hurling Challenge: St Flannan’s Park Moneygall hosted the Tipperary senior hurlers in a challenge match against Offaly on Sunday afternoon last, as the team’s preparations continued for the 2014 season.  A lot of work was done during the week to have the pitch and grounds ready for the match, and thankfully the early morning heavy rain had cleared by throw-in time. 
Tipp led by 2-9 to 0-6 at half time with the goals scored by Conor Kenny and David Collins.  A third goal from John O’Dwyer late in the game helped to give Tipp a 3-18 to 1-10 win.  Tipp will next play Limerick IT in the Waterford Crystal Cup this weekend.

Juvenile AGM: Following our recent AGM, the following Officers and Team Mentors/Selectors were appointed:

Chairman – Paddy Whyte

Secretary – John Bolger
PRO – Tom Kenneally
Registration – Noel Ryan & Pat Murray
Equipment Officer – Ger Hogan
North Board Representatives – Stephen Kenny & Ger Hogan
Senior Committee Representatives – Kevin Maher & Noel Ryan
Child Protection Officers – Una Teehan & Noel Ryan

Team Mentors:
U6 – Emma Gleeson, Pat Murray, Jim Hoolan
U8 – Majella Whyte, Francis Gleeson, Eoin Toohey
U10 – Kevin McCormack, Ray Fitzpatrick, Tom Kenneally, Noel Ryan
U12 – Majella Whyte, Damien Hogan, Noel Ryan, Kevin McCormack, Tom Kenneally
U14 – Johnny Kirwan, John Bolger
U16 – John O’Meara, John Fogarty, Peter Jennings, Noel Hogan, Willie Jones
It was decided to arrange a Foundation Coaching Course in the very near future.  If anyone would like to partake in same, please contact any committee member asap. 
Membership for 2014 for all juveniles under 16 yrs old is €15, or €50 for a family membership.  A registration evening will take place in the near future and details will be circulated prior to same.
The official club togs and socks for all juveniles are available for purchase and can be ordered through any committee member.

Fundraiser: A new date has been set for our Golf Ball Race fundraiser, it will now take place on Sunday 26th January.  Tickets are on sale for €10 each and are available from any member of the club committee or juvenile committee.  The owner of the first golf ball to cross the finish line will win a prize of €1000.

Prior to last Sunday it had been 31 years since the Tipperary hurlers played in Moneygall.  On that occasion Tipp beat Kildare by 2-20 to 3-4 in a National League Division Two clash.  The Tipp team was: John Sheedy; Michael Ryan, Paddy Maher, Seamus Power; John McIntyre, Jack Bergin, Dan Shelly; Philip Kennedy (0-3), Liam Maher (0-2); Tom Waters, Donie O’Connell (1-0), Paul Dooley (0-1); John Grogan (0-9), Eugene Ryan (1-1), Dick Quigley (0-2).  Subs: Nicholas English (0-2), Ian Conroy.