Club News‎ > ‎2012 Archived News‎ > ‎

Junior Hurlers Into North Final

posted 15 Sep 2012, 12:08 by Unknown user   [ updated 2 Jan 2013, 10:48 by Moneygall GAA ]
Moneygall qualified for the north junior hurling final with a dramatic 4-11 to 3-12 semi final win over Burgess on Saturday evening in Toomevara.  An injury-time goal from Damien Martin was the match-winner of an exciting game.

Burgess got off to a flyer when they opened the scoring with a goal but Moneygall quickly equalised with a well-taken Billy McCormack goal (see video below) following a good move involving Martin Deane and Brian Teehan.  Burgess then opened up a 2-2 to 1-0 lead but Moneygall drew level again at 2-2 each, John Doughan getting the second goal.  It remained a tight affair for the remainder of the half - Moneygall had points from Tom Toohey, John Doughan and Donal Doughan but lost full-back Tadhg Kennedy to injury.  Burgess went in with a one-point lead at half-time, 2-6 to 2-5.

In the second half Burgess again opened up a five-point lead when a 40th minute goal made it 3-8 to 2-6.  Moneygall then got a much-needed goal when a long ball was broken down by Donal Doughan for Paul O'Brien to finish to the net and soon after a Billy McCormack point reduced the gap to one.

But Burgess forged ahead again, and entering the closing minutes they had a 3-11 to 3-8 lead.  Points from Tom Toohey, Donal Doughan and a John Doughan free levelled matters again, but in the final minute of normal time a pointed free put Burgess back in front.  The clock ticked into injury time and a series of throw-ins in the middle of the field meant time was running out for Moneygall.  From the last of these throw-ins David Gleeson emerged with possession and sent a long ball into the Burgess goalmouth.  The goalkeeper fumbled and Damien Martin nipped in to flick home the match-winning goal.  The final whistle soon sounded and Moneygall had qualified for the north final where we will play Nenagh Eire Og.
Below is a video showing our first goal.

Billy McCormack Goal

Team: John King; Martin Deane, Tadhg Kennedy, Michael Hogan; David Gleeson, Stephen Maher (0-1, 65), Michael Kirwan; John Doughan (1-4, 0-3 frees), Keith Maher; Michael Cahill, Tom Toohey (0-3), Brian Teehan; Billy McCormack (1-1), Donal Doughan (0-2), Dwayne Collison.  Subs: Tony O'Connor for Tadhg Kennedy, Cathal Kennedy for Dwayne Collison, Damien Martin (1-0) for Michael Cahill, Paul O'Brien (1-0) for Brian Teehan, Alan Maher for Keith Maher.